Still slow, but less so…

Leave a comment

October 15, 2012 by crazymadliving

Funny how things change.

If you had told me 18 months ago that I’d be sitting here today holding my second half marathon finisher’s medal, I would have laughed and laughed and… you get the picture.

But there I was on Sunday, running my little heart out and feeling so strong.  And it didn’t matter that I was slow and came in at 2:45, because I was proud that I was seven minutes faster than at Two Oceans.   What mattered was that, despite maintaining that I wasn’t built for running some 18 months ago, I never gave up.  I didn’t let the small matter of forever being the slowest the training group get me down.

What impressed me even more was that Sofie, who has become such a good friend in the short time we’ve been training together, ran 21km with a bunged-up ankle! That chick is made of TITAAAAAANIIIIIIIIIIIIUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUM!

Meanwhile, I’ve been doing a lot of ugly crying and I fear it’s becoming a bit of an embarrassing habit.

My training partner and blogger-supreme Stacey sent me her copy of Chrissie Wellington’s A Life Without Limits, which turned out to be one of the most inspiring reads I’ve ever had the pleasure to enjoy.  I couldn’t help but be impressed by her humanity and down to earth honesty.  Every page gave me something to cry about! But what really launched the old waterworks was Chapter 14, entitled Heroes Of Ironman, dedicated to a number of people who overcame the odds and countless challenges to become Ironmen and -women.

One such story is that of Rick and Dick Hoyt, a father and son team who race together.  Rick’s umbilical cord was wrapped around his neck at birth which resulted in oxygen deprivation and rendered him a spastic quadriplegic with cerebral palsy. The journey that followed has inspired the world and is such an amazing testament of how love really conquers all.

Seriously… if you don’t shed a little tear while watching this you were born without a heart!

 

Leave a Reply

300 Days Of Training

My Instagram

Happy #redsockfriday! #shoOops When I work at the @capetownfunnyfestival I'm usually hidden away in some hidey hole, so the audience reaction feels different. Last night I was in the audience, and the experience was absolutely incredible. Hearing the gasps, the uncontrollable giggles, and spontaneous laughter... Seeing the delight in the audience's eyes and how they jump to their feet for a standing ovation... there is magic in the air at the @baxtertheatre, and you'll be a fool to miss this show.

#JiveCTFunnyFestival #comedy #capetown #lovecapetown #funny #laughter #magic He did it again. Fresh from the oven... thanks @brightboykris!

#bread #homebaked #baking #food You don't do #Cubs #Scouts for the fame and glory. But I love this pack of mine, even when dealing with them is like hearding cats ❤

And then their parents surprise you with a ginormous bag of your favourite chocolate. This #Akela has sweaty eyes right now. @justinbieberkittie doesn't care what or who he sits on. As long as it is soft.

#instapet #catsofinstagram #family #dominate Oh my gosh, I'm SO excited. Just received my mini photographic studio-in-a-box and am so impressed.
#lightbox #photo #excited #play Thinking back to my cross-country trip with @theunogwaja. Some of my favourite humans are in this pic. I miss them so. 
Also... check our awesome @newbalanceza kit... comfort for daaaayyyyyysssss (I still find myself wearing something from the range on the daily)
#bettertogether #unogwaja2017 #makeadifference Yup, I can taste that Cheddamelt and double thick milkshake already, @_official_spur_sa 
But at the same time I can't help but wonder how real this is 😶 It's so handy to have a #baker #boy in the house. Finally... an assistant in the kitchen, and @brightboykris is becoming an ace at decorating too. #homebaked #cupcakes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 702 other followers

