Ode To Da Husband

Leave a comment

October 12, 2012 by crazymadliving

Last year, on one arb morning, I woke up to breakfast and Da Husband giving me an awesome new handbag and my favourite biscuits. Appreciative, but not used to gifting of this kind on a random day towards the end of the year, I asked him what the occasion was (OR… what he may have been atoning for).

“Happy wedding anniversary, babes,” he replied.

Oh shit!

Rewiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiind…

Da Husband and I met in 1999, on a semi-blind date, the day after my birthday.  I don’t know what our mutual friends were thinking when they set us up, because I was a non-conformist-feminist-workaholic-creative hipster (see? even then I was ahead of my time) who vowed to NEVER go out with an Afrikaans guy.  And he was (and still is), well, Afrikaans.  I should at this point note that I’m Afrikaans too.  But that’s a story for another day.

Anyhoo, somehow we hit it off and he became the logical, straight-thinking, steadfast ying to my crazy, oddball hypochondriac-paranoid yang.

Da Son arrived in 2005.  Da Chick in 2006.  We’ve been together through thick (my weight-gain) and thin (his weight-loss) and finally got married in 2008 – a wham-bam-thank-you-ma’am at Paarl Home Affairs with only our two best friends in attendance.

So, my wedding anniversary is this Sunday, 14 October.  Which I know because I had to quickly check my marriage certificate that’s stapled to the back of my ID book.

Back to the present…

What I love about Da Husband is that there’s never a need to compete.  We are so different that our relationship should only realistically work in a Hollywood movie.

  • He’s an engineer who has worked at the same company since he graduated.  I have worked in so many industries that my CV says something along the lines of copywriter/translator/editor/proofreader/creative genius/designer/wordpress developer/spindoctor/baker/magician (yes, I also happen to do magic).
  • He has an annoyingly awesome natural fitness and seems to be able to master any kind of sport quickly and effortlessly.  I simply think “unfit” and I gain 5kg.
  • He LOVES the ocean, is an amazing swimmer, and loves to spend time on his boat.  I don’t; am not;  get seasick.
  • He’s fearless.  I fear heights, depths, water, enclosed spaces, dying, strangers, public speaking… you get the idea.
  • He’s a great cook.  Da Chick once called me “the baddest chef in the whole wide world”.
  • He loves trail.  I love the road.
  • He’s a man of action.  I’m a procrastinator.

I don’t mind that he goes on extended fishing trips.  He doesn’t mind that I go into silence for a week.

He also has zero interest in anything triathlon / 70.3 related, but will give me the space to do my thing.

Somehow it works.  Somehow we work.  And sometimes I can’t believe that he still puts up with me.

So, before we get to Sunday and in the excitement of the Gun Run I forget our wedding anniversary once again, I just want to say:

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO MY ONE AND ONLY, DA HUSBAND.

Leave a Reply

300 Days Of Training

My Instagram

Happy #redsockfriday! #shoOops When I work at the @capetownfunnyfestival I'm usually hidden away in some hidey hole, so the audience reaction feels different. Last night I was in the audience, and the experience was absolutely incredible. Hearing the gasps, the uncontrollable giggles, and spontaneous laughter... Seeing the delight in the audience's eyes and how they jump to their feet for a standing ovation... there is magic in the air at the @baxtertheatre, and you'll be a fool to miss this show.

#JiveCTFunnyFestival #comedy #capetown #lovecapetown #funny #laughter #magic He did it again. Fresh from the oven... thanks @brightboykris!

#bread #homebaked #baking #food You don't do #Cubs #Scouts for the fame and glory. But I love this pack of mine, even when dealing with them is like hearding cats ❤

And then their parents surprise you with a ginormous bag of your favourite chocolate. This #Akela has sweaty eyes right now. @justinbieberkittie doesn't care what or who he sits on. As long as it is soft.

#instapet #catsofinstagram #family #dominate Oh my gosh, I'm SO excited. Just received my mini photographic studio-in-a-box and am so impressed.
#lightbox #photo #excited #play Thinking back to my cross-country trip with @theunogwaja. Some of my favourite humans are in this pic. I miss them so. 
Also... check our awesome @newbalanceza kit... comfort for daaaayyyyyysssss (I still find myself wearing something from the range on the daily)
#bettertogether #unogwaja2017 #makeadifference Yup, I can taste that Cheddamelt and double thick milkshake already, @_official_spur_sa 
But at the same time I can't help but wonder how real this is 😶 It's so handy to have a #baker #boy in the house. Finally... an assistant in the kitchen, and @brightboykris is becoming an ace at decorating too. #homebaked #cupcakes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 702 other followers

