Mental Shift

2

September 12, 2012 by crazymadliving

I had an interesting afternoon.

While working from home after an appointment with Da Chick, I started thinking about my diet, health and the changes I had made in a desperate attempt to get my iron back up.

Then I looked at my skin and the itchy eczema-like rash that came back after I started reintroducing meat into my diet and I reflected on how sluggish I’ve been feeling – something which has really affected my training…  so I made the conscious decision to return to my plant-based diet and carefully monitor my nutrient intake from now on.

This evening, while helping Da Chick stick little flowers onto her birthday invitation, she asked me why I was exercising so much and what I was training for.  So I decided to show her a few video clips of the actual race.  In between the “oohs” and “aahs”, she turned to me and asked if I will win and bring home a golden cup.  I looked at her and said, “no, mommy won’t win.  But mommy will finish.”

And, just like that, it’s like my brain switched into a different gear.  Seeing these clips made what I’m trying to do very real.  This isn’t about being last in the run or the worst swimmer in the group; it’s about doing my best, overcoming my fears and achieving what many people think I won’t be able to achieve.

 

2 thoughts on “Mental Shift

  1. scott says:

    Well put Leonie. I wish you all of the very best for your training and lots of fun and enjoyment in the lead up to 70.3. See you on the start line!

    Like

  2. inge says:

    That’s exactly it Leone – awesome post. On the day it’s just you and the thoughts in your head that get you onto that red carpet – and you will!

    Like

Leave a Reply

300 Days Of Training

My Instagram

Happy #redsockfriday! #shoOops When I work at the @capetownfunnyfestival I'm usually hidden away in some hidey hole, so the audience reaction feels different. Last night I was in the audience, and the experience was absolutely incredible. Hearing the gasps, the uncontrollable giggles, and spontaneous laughter... Seeing the delight in the audience's eyes and how they jump to their feet for a standing ovation... there is magic in the air at the @baxtertheatre, and you'll be a fool to miss this show.

#JiveCTFunnyFestival #comedy #capetown #lovecapetown #funny #laughter #magic He did it again. Fresh from the oven... thanks @brightboykris!

#bread #homebaked #baking #food You don't do #Cubs #Scouts for the fame and glory. But I love this pack of mine, even when dealing with them is like hearding cats ❤

And then their parents surprise you with a ginormous bag of your favourite chocolate. This #Akela has sweaty eyes right now. @justinbieberkittie doesn't care what or who he sits on. As long as it is soft.

#instapet #catsofinstagram #family #dominate Oh my gosh, I'm SO excited. Just received my mini photographic studio-in-a-box and am so impressed.
#lightbox #photo #excited #play Thinking back to my cross-country trip with @theunogwaja. Some of my favourite humans are in this pic. I miss them so. 
Also... check our awesome @newbalanceza kit... comfort for daaaayyyyyysssss (I still find myself wearing something from the range on the daily)
#bettertogether #unogwaja2017 #makeadifference Yup, I can taste that Cheddamelt and double thick milkshake already, @_official_spur_sa 
But at the same time I can't help but wonder how real this is 😶 It's so handy to have a #baker #boy in the house. Finally... an assistant in the kitchen, and @brightboykris is becoming an ace at decorating too. #homebaked #cupcakes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 702 other followers

