Burpee Schmurpee

Leave a comment

August 18, 2012 by crazymadliving

Bootcamp.  At 6am.  In the friggin cold.  On a Friday morning.

Yes, that’s how I finished off my week, and the only way I could cope with early morning outdoor training in the middle of winter was to

  1. sleep in my training gear
  2. purposefully oversleep so that I am forced to hit the ground running (and therefore warm up faster)

The group that gathered in Sea Point yesterday morning was noticeably smaller than usual, so I gave myself a quick self-high-five for commitment and hanged around the back of the pack until we started running.

What followed was an hour of running, sprinting (or as Steve calls it – running as fast as you can when you’re being chased by a bergie), push-ups, sit-ups, buddy-PT, planking (and not in the nice social networking kinda way)… and burpees.

I hate burpees.

If you Google it, it claims to condition every single muscle in your body in the shortest space of time.  Basically it’s a stand-to-plank-to-pushup-to-squat-to-explosive-star-jump-to-plank-to-pushup….  Done over and over again.

How burpees should be done…

We were supposed to do three sets of 10 burpees with 200 metres of running in between.  I managed three sets of three.  By burpee number four in each set my explosive star jump qualified to be renamed to “wilting flower”, because I managed a lame little hop while performing an arm movement that resembled swatting away a fly.  Not pretty.

I don’t remember much of bootcamp but I do remember pain, sweat and mud.

Early morning planking. Fun was had by all.

Sofie and I trying to look cool and casual while preparing for partner sit-ups.

ExPLOsive star jump… you’re doing it right

LOL – glad to see Sofie and I weren’t the only ones who struggled with a spot of partner squatting…

Oh, yes, the mud…

It was still dark when I left Sea Point for work, but on the way I was really cold and clammy and wanted to pop into the 24-hour Woolies around the corner from my office to refuel.

As I got out of the car my eye caught the car’s side mirror, and then I saw myself for the first time:  face full of mud, legs covered in mud, a brown muddy butt and dirty hands.  And blood coming through my tights – I still can’t figure out where I cut my knee.

I sighed, turned around and went straight to the office.

But that’s not where the fun stopped

… because for some reason my office’s security gate wouldn’t open, the alarm countdown had already started and a few seconds later the alarm went off.  After managing to reset the gate’s keypad, I got in, waited for ADT to call, then gave up and stripped down to shower.

I was about to turn on the taps when I heard the doorbell ring and the security guy calling, and a few seconds later the ADT dude had the fright of his life when he came face to face with a chick (moi) in a tiny little towel, hair standing in all directions and mud on her face and a bloody knee.

He laughed.  I laughed.  And he walked away, shaking his head.  I guess he realised that I belonged there, even though I didn’t know the password.

Looking ahead

After singing the praises of my immune booster remedy, I was caught off-guard by a bunch of flu symptoms last night, which kinda screwed my training plans for the weekend 😦  I’m now trying my best to expel the lurgies from my body before my

  • 8km run time trial on Tuesday
  • 1km swim time trial on Thursday
  • 40km bike time trial on Saturday

Hold thumbs…

Leave a Reply

300 Days Of Training

My Instagram

Happy #redsockfriday! #shoOops When I work at the @capetownfunnyfestival I'm usually hidden away in some hidey hole, so the audience reaction feels different. Last night I was in the audience, and the experience was absolutely incredible. Hearing the gasps, the uncontrollable giggles, and spontaneous laughter... Seeing the delight in the audience's eyes and how they jump to their feet for a standing ovation... there is magic in the air at the @baxtertheatre, and you'll be a fool to miss this show.

#JiveCTFunnyFestival #comedy #capetown #lovecapetown #funny #laughter #magic He did it again. Fresh from the oven... thanks @brightboykris!

#bread #homebaked #baking #food You don't do #Cubs #Scouts for the fame and glory. But I love this pack of mine, even when dealing with them is like hearding cats ❤

And then their parents surprise you with a ginormous bag of your favourite chocolate. This #Akela has sweaty eyes right now. @justinbieberkittie doesn't care what or who he sits on. As long as it is soft.

#instapet #catsofinstagram #family #dominate Oh my gosh, I'm SO excited. Just received my mini photographic studio-in-a-box and am so impressed.
#lightbox #photo #excited #play Thinking back to my cross-country trip with @theunogwaja. Some of my favourite humans are in this pic. I miss them so. 
Also... check our awesome @newbalanceza kit... comfort for daaaayyyyyysssss (I still find myself wearing something from the range on the daily)
#bettertogether #unogwaja2017 #makeadifference Yup, I can taste that Cheddamelt and double thick milkshake already, @_official_spur_sa 
But at the same time I can't help but wonder how real this is 😶 It's so handy to have a #baker #boy in the house. Finally... an assistant in the kitchen, and @brightboykris is becoming an ace at decorating too. #homebaked #cupcakes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 702 other followers

